San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

February 24th, 2013
Bobcat women win WAC indoor track meet



Texas State track and field coach Dana Boone, left, receives the Western Athletic Conference (WAC) Indoor Track and Field Women’s Coach of the Year award from a WAC official (Texas State sports information photo).


The track and field teams at Texas State found their only season in the Western Athletic Conference (WAC) much to their liking.

During the weekend, the women’s team won the conference indoor meet in Albuquerque, NM, where the men’s team finished fourth. For the efforts of the women’s team , Texas State track and field head coach Dana Boone was named the WAC Indoor Track and Field Women’s Coach of the Year.

The Texas State women’s team won three gold medals, three silvers and four bronzes to edge out Texas-San Antonio (UTSA), 122-116 for the team championship.

“This was something that we had hoped for,” Boone said. “I just can’t thank my staff enough. They’ve prepared the kids and worked so hard. I’m more excited for them and the athletes. It was a job well done across the board.”

Texas State senior thrower Kelsey Titzman was recognized as the WAC Women’s Field Athlete of the Year, winning the shot put Saturday with a throw of 15.60 meters, a personal best. Titzman came from behind to win the gold by three centimeters.

The Texas State women won their other gold medals Friday, when Danielle Candelaria and Hannah McWilliams claimed gold in the high jump and pole vault with personal records.

The men’s team finished fourth in the league meet with 10 medals, including three golds. Darian Brown set a new Texas State record in the weight throw with a toss of 19.47 meters to win gold. Pole vaulter Logan Cunningham set a new WAC record with a vault of 5.53 meters, a personal best. Senior Timothy Young brought home the team’s final gold medal with a time of 7.82 in the 60-meter hurdles.


Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *