San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas
Email Email | Print Print --

May 8th, 2012
Texas State to award honorary doctorates to benefactors


Jerry D. and Linda Gregg Fields of Houston will be awarded honorary doctoral degrees during a commencement ceremony to be held at 10 a.m. Thursday, May 10, at Texas State University.

The ceremony is the first of six spring commencement ceremonies to be held May 10, 11 and 12 at Texas State. All ceremonies will be held in Strahan Coliseum on the Texas State campus.

“Jerry and Linda Fields are among our most loyal supporters, and their contributions have helped transform our university into the progressive campus it is today. They are proud, energetic and enthusiastic members of the Texas State family and we are honored to be able to recognize them in this manner,” said Texas State President Denise Trauth.

Jerry and Linda Fields are among Texas State’s most generous benefactors, having given more than $11.7 million to Texas State. Their gifts have positively affected all areas of the University. They both will receive the Doctor of Laws, honoris causa.

Mr. Fields is a 1969 graduate of Texas State, where he was president of his junior class and a member of Sigma Nu fraternity. He is the founder, chairman and chief executive officer of J.D. Fields and Company, Inc., a worldwide supplier of steel products headquartered in Houston. He was named a Distinguished Alumnus of Texas State in 2006.

Mrs. Fields is a fifth-generation Texan, a native of San Marcos and a 1966 graduate of Texas State. During her college years, she was very active on campus, where she was a Strutter, a member of Chi Omega sorority and was named a Gaillardian. She taught school for seven years.

Their gifts have included two endowed chairs and two endowed professorships in the McCoy College of Business Administration: the Jerry D. and Linda Gregg Fields Chair in Ethics and Corporate Responsibility, the Jerry D. and Linda Gregg Fields Chair in Urban and Regional Economics, the Brandon Dee Roberts Excellence Professorship, and the Stephen R. “Steve” Gregg Sr. Excellence Professorship.

They have also provided special support for the Jerry D. and Linda Gregg Fields West Side Complex and the Strutter Gallery at Bobcat Stadium. Their $6 million gift for support of the athletics program constitutes the largest gift in the history of the Texas State Department of Athletics.

The Fieldses are the recipients of the 11th and 12th honorary doctoral degrees awarded by Texas State throughout its 113-year history. Past recipients have been former U.S. President Lyndon Baines Johnson, former U.S. First Lady Lady Bird Johnson, former president of the National Geographic Society Gilbert M. Grosvenor, Texas State benefactors Roy F. and Joann Cole Mitte, country music superstar George Strait, Texas State benefactors Emmett and Miriam McCoy, and Texas State benefactors Bruce and Gloria Ingram.

  • Degree candidates from the College of Education are scheduled to attend the 10 a.m. Thursday ceremony.
  • Degree candidates from the colleges of Applied Arts and Health Professions will attend the 2 p.m. ceremony Thursday, May 10.
  • Candidates from the McCoy College of Business Administration and the University College will attend the 10 a.m. ceremony Friday, May 11.
  • Candidates from the College of Fine Arts and Communication will attend the 2 p.m. ceremony May 11.
  • Candidates from the College of Liberal Arts (The Departments of Anthropology, English, History, International Studies, Modern Languages, Philosophy, Psychology and Sociology) will attend the 10 a.m. ceremony on Saturday, May 12.
  • Candidates from the College of Science and Engineering and the College of Liberal Arts (The Departments of Geography and Political Science) will attend the 2 p.m. ceremony on May 12.

A total of 3,900 Texas State students are candidates for undergraduate and graduate degrees this semester.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *