San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

October 14th, 2011
San Marcos High School announces 2011 scholar recipients

All San Marcos High School's 2011 AP scholars. PHOTO via SMCISD


Christopher de la Iglesia. PHOTO via SMCISD

Eighteen students at San Marcos High School have earned advanced placement Scholar Awards — including three as AP Scholars with Honor and one AP Scholar with Distinction — in recognition of their exceptional achievement in the College Board’s Advanced Placement Program.

Additionally, the high school designated a National Merit Commended Scholar and three National Hispanic Scholars.

The AP program gives willing and academically-prepared high school students the opportunity to take rigorous college-level courses and to earn college credit, advanced placement, or both. Only about 18 percent of the more than 1.8 million students worldwide who took AP exams performed at a high enough level to be named an AP Scholar.

There are various levels of achievement based on student performance on the AP exams. One student, Christopher de la Iglesia, qualified for the AP Scholar of Distinction Award by earning an average of at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken, and earned a scores of three or higher on five of those exams.

Three high school students qualified for the AP Scholar with Honor Award by earning an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken, and scores of three or higher on four or more of the exams. Recipients were of this award were Marcus Cruz, Logan Nicks, and Keegan Taylor. Cruz and Taylor were 2011 graduates.

Fourteen students qualified for the AP Scholar Award by completing three or more AP exams with scores of three or higher — with six of those students currently seniors. They are: Kaitlin Burroughs, Amelia Finch (senior), Lorenzo Garcia (senior), Marshal Hanzel (senior), Ray Jalufka, Samantha Jennings, Sally John Rajkuman, Fernando Salas, Kelsie Singleton, Kelsea Smith (senior), William Spencer (senior), Nathan Stone, Parisa Tajalli, and Hannah Yock (senior).

In addition, three seniors – Christopher de la Iglesia, Lorenzo Garcia, and Maximiliano Hernandez — have been named 2011-2012 National Hispanic Scholars, and de la Iglesia earned the distinction of “Commended Student” in the 2012 National Merit Scholarship Program.

The three National Hispanic Scholars were among 5,000 students selected from a pool of over 235,000 who took the 2010 tests and identified themselves as Hispanic. The award identifies outstanding Hispanic/Latino high school students, and the list of recognized students is distributed to subscribing four-year, post-secondary educational institutions each year.

De la Iglesia was one of about 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation who are recognized for exceptional academic promise. Although Commended Students do not continue in the 2012 competition for National Merit Scholarships, they placed among the top five percent of more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2012 competition by taking the 2010 Preliminary SAT/ National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.

“San Marcos High School supports students who choose the rigor and challenge of advanced academic opportunities,” said Cecily Moore, advanced academics coordinator for San Marcos High School. “We are especially proud of these students who continue to challenge themselves academically and achieve excellence along the way. These awards are a huge honor for the students, their families, our campus, and our community.”

Left to right: Lorenzo Garcia, Christopher de la Iglesia, and Maximiliano Hernandez. PHOTO via SMCISD

Email Email | Print Print


One thought on “San Marcos High School announces 2011 scholar recipients

  1. Way to go! We are proud of our outstanding seniors past and present. We also thank the teachers who prepared them for success on the

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *