San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

July 19th, 2011
Texas State President Denise Trauth announces winners of 2011 Distinguished Professor award


Texas State Professors Jesús Francisco de la Teja and Robert Gorman received the 2011 University Distinguished Professor Award.

The award is intended to honor those whose teaching, research and service have been exemplary and recognized at the state, national and international levels.

De la Teja and Gorman will each receive a one-time $3,000 cash prize, a commemorative medallion and recognition at the university’s fall convocation. De la Teja and Gorman will each retain the title of “University Distinguished Professor” for the rest of their time at Texas State.

Additionally, Texas State President Denise Trauth has nominated de la Teja and Gorman for the “Regents’ Professor” award, offered by the Texas State University System Board of Regents each year to top faculty members among the system’s eight member institutions.

De la Teja is chair of the university’s Department of History and Gorman is a political science professor.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *