San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

January 3rd, 2011
County officials to be sworn in Tuesday


Newly elected and re-elected Hays County officials will be sworn in Tuesday at the county courthouse.

The ceremony will take place at 9 a.m., at the start of Tuesday’s first meeting of a new commissioners court. The November election swung the court from a 4-1 Democratic majority to a 4-1 Republican majority as the Republicans swept every contested county office.

Bert Cobb (R-San Marcos) will debut as the new county judge after he defeated departing Precinct 2 Commissioner Jeff Barton (D-Kyle) in the November election. Mark Jones (R-Kyle) will be sworn in as the new Precinct 2 commissioner after his November win against Ray Bryant (D-Kyle). The new Precinct 4 commissioner will be Ray Whisenant (R-Dripping Springs), who beat incumbent Karen Ford (D-Dripping Springs) in November.

The holdovers on the commissioners court at Precinct 3 Commissioner Will Conley (R-Wimberley) and Precinct 1 Commissioner Debbie Ingalsbe (D-San Marcos).

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.