- San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas - https://smmercury.com -

Ten SMA Bears make TAPPS Division II-District 3 team

120610smaalldistTen San Marcos Academy Bears were named to the TAPPS Division II-District 3 All-District teams. Front, left to right: Richard Smith, Alex Ashley, Estevan Gutierrez, Josh McIntyre. Back, left to right: Memo Borrego, Sabas Castillo, Jonathan Powell, Cameron Whitehead, and Cody Watson. Not pictured is Ty Merriweather. (Photo by Don Anders).


San Marcos Academy (SMA) football coach Les Davis recently announced that ten SMA players were selected for the All-District Team in Texas Association of Private and Parochial Schools (TAPPS) Division II-District 3.

Making the first team were junior offensive lineman Cody Watson and sophomore defensive lineman Estevan Gutierrez. Both students are from San Marcos. Senior defensive back Josh McIntyre of the Woodlands was also selected. McIntyre was additionally an honorable mention selection on offense as a receiver.

Sophomore running back Ty Merriweather and senior receiver Alex Ashley, both from San Marcos, were selected second team all-district.

Other honorable mention selections include senior quarterback Jonathan Powell of Lago Vista, junior offensive lineman Sabas Castillo of San Marcos and junior kicker Memo “Blue Shoe” Borrego of Nuevo Leon, Mexico. Additional honorable mention picks are senior defensive lineman Cameron Whitehead of San Marcos and junior linebacker Richard Smith of Kyle.