San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

November 25th, 2010
Hall, Griggs named to Southland Conference first team


Texas State offensive guard D.J. Hall was named to the Southland Conference first team for the second straight year. Texas State sports information photo.


Texas State wide receiver Da’Marcus Griggs and offensive guard D.J. Hall each were named to the Southland Conference 2010 first team announced this week.

The team is selected in a poll of the league’s head football coaches and sports information directors. Also for Texas State, defensive back Darryl Morris was named to the second team, while running back Karrington Bush, linebacker Marcus Clark and punter Ben Follis were honorably mentioned. Griggs also received an honorable mention as a punt returner.

Griggs ended his senior season ranked second in the league with 920 receiving yards and fourth with 65 receptions while catching six touchdown passes. Griggs also returned 21 punts for 280 yards and one touchdown. Griggs ended his career with 154 receptions for 1,990 yards and 14 touchdowns, ranking second all-time at Texas State in receptions, fourth in receiving yards and fifth in touchdowns.

Hall, a junior, has started 35 straight games for Texas State and earned All-Southland Conference honors for the third straight year. He is a first team selection for two years running.

Morris, a sophomore, was Texas State’s most consistent defender this season, recording 60 tackles and breaking up nine passes despite playing against the opponent’s top receiver most of the time. He also had 6.5 tackles for losses of 18 yards.

Bush closed out the season rushing for 704 yards and six touchdowns on 145 carries to lead the Bobcats after returning from a knee injury. He ended his career as one of three players in Texas State history to rush for more than 3,000 yards, finishing his career with 3,193 yards and 24 touchdowns on 477 carries. He averaged 6.7 yards per carry throughout his career.

Clark led Texas State in tackles for the third straight year with 64 and ended his career with 315 tackles, which ranks fourth among the Bobcats’ career leaders.

Follis, a junior, ended the 2010 campaign ranked third in the Southland Conference with an average of 41.6 yards on 49 punts. He had 11 punts of more than 50 yards and placed 13 inside the opponent’s 20 yard-line.

Stephen F. Austin (SFA) quarterback Jeremy Moses was named the league’s Player of the Year and Offensive Player of the Year, while SFA linebacker Jabara Williams was chosen as the Defensive Player of Year.

Central Arkansas defensive back Jestin Love was selected the Freshman of the Year, Sam Houston State running back Tim Flanders was tabbed the Newcomer of the Year and SFA head coach J.C. Harper was named the Coach of the Year for the second straight season.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.