- San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas - https://smmercury.com -

San Marcos installs new mayor, council members

Mayor Daniel Guerrero and three City Council Members took their oaths of office Monday, November 15 following the canvass of the Nov. 2 general and special election returns.

City councilmembers sworn in were Kim Porterfield for a second three year term in Place 1, Jude Prather for a three year term in Place 2, and Shane Scott for a two year term in Place 6 to fill a vacancy.

Following the swearing in ceremony, the City Council selected Ryan Thomason, Place 5, as Mayor Pro Tempore, and Chris Jones, Place 4, as Deputy Mayor Pro Tem.

The ceremony was followed by a reception honoring outgoing Mayor Susan Narvaiz and City Council Members Gaylord Bose and John Thomaides.