San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

October 29th, 2010
Texas State IT students win conference contests


The Texas State AITP chapter was named Outstanding Student Chapter and won numerous contests at the Association of Information Technology Professionals (AITP) Region 3 Student Conference in Houston.

Texas State had more wins in the conference contests than any of the other 24 colleges and universities also in attendance. The event was held Oct. 21-23 and attended by more than 300 students from the region.

The Texas State AITP contest team included Ashley Emanuel, Brendan Johnson, Chase Borden, Claire Taylor, Clint Rasmussen, Dotti Bolt, Doug Fogle, Erin Armstrong, Grant Lloyd, Jack Chen, James Thorne, Joe McGowan, Karlye Morris, Kelly Forciea, Meg Hinojosa, Michael Gairo, Sarah Terrall, Sean Hargrove, Shannon Flynn, Steven Martinez, Steven Vassilaros, Tan Truong, Tony Bardales and Travis Houston.

First place was awarded to Doug Fogle and Kelly Forciea in the categories of both Application Development and Data Base Design. James Thorne and Michael Gairo won first place in Network Design.

Shannon Flynn and Sarah Terrall won second place in Database Design and Erin Armstrong and Dotti Bolt took third place in the category.

James Thorne and Jack Chen were finalists in the Troubleshooting category.

Faculty advisors for the Texas State AITP chapter are Kevin Jetton and James Cook.

AITP is a national organization of professionals, students and volunteers in the field of information technology. The Texas State student chapter participates in events and community programs which serve to familiarize the students with the functions of information technology in the world.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *