- San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas - https://smmercury.com -

HCSO graduates new academy class


Left to right: Hays County Sheriff Tommy Ratliff, Sgt. Terry Carter, John Simon, Jeffrey Spencer, Deanna Ayres, Tanner Timmons, Jack DeBerry, Brandon Rodriguez, Alma Guzman, James Dusek, Michael Bishop, Tina Decker, Cheryl Evans, Patrick Ortiz, Sam Cocita, Patrick Segler, Samuel Travis, Chief Sherman Brodbeck, and Lt. Dennis Gutierrez.


The Hays County Sheriff’s Office held a graduation ceremony on Aug. 24 for its most recent class of attendees at its Basic Corrections Officer Academy.

The graduating students received 120 hours of classroom and practical instruction.

The graduating students were from three area law enforcement organizations. The Hays County Sheriff’s office graduates included James E. Dusek, Jeffrey Spencer, Michael Bishop, Deanna Ayres, Tina Decker, Samuel Travis, Patrick Ortiz, Tanner Timmons, Sam Cocita, John Simon and Patrick Segler. Cheryl Evans, Jack DeBerry, and Alma Guzman were graduates from the Caldwell County Sheriff’s Office and graduate Brandon Rodriguez  was from the Blanco County Sheriff’s Office.

Hays County Sheriff Tommy Ratliff was on hand at the ceremony and thanked the students for their hard work. He also praised their families for the support given during the three-week training process.