San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

July 27th, 2010
Hall named first team All-American by The Sports Network


Texas State offensive guard D.J. Hall. Texas State sports information graphic.


The Sports Network, which conducts one of the major Football Championship Subdivision (FCS) national polls, has named Texas State junior offensive lineman D. J. Hall a preseason FCS All-America first-team selection and record-setting senior wide receiver Da’Marcus Griggs a third-team choice.

Hall, a 6-foot-3 native of Palestine, TX, also was named an All-America first-team selection by Phil Steele and an All-FCS second-team selection by Lindy’s. He was an All-Southland Conference first-team performer as an offensive lineman in 2009 after being named a second-team selection in 2008. Hall started 11 games and helped the Bobcats hold their opponents to an average of 1.36 sacks per game. He has started 24 straight games for Texas State entering the 2010 campaign.

Griggs is a 6-1, 185-pound wide receiver from Bay City who was chosen an All-FCS first-team selection by Lindy’s and a FCS All-America second-team wide receiver by Phil Steele. Earlier this year, he also was chosen one of the Top 10 FCS wide receivers by The Sports Network and a preseason Honorable Mention All-American by Consensus Draft Service.  Griggs set a Texas State record with 80 receptions last year and ranked 12th nationally in receiving yards with an average of 88.1 yards per game. He ended the season with 969 yards and eight touchdown catches.

The Bobcats will open fall drills on Aug. 8. Texas State plays its first game at Houston on Sept. 4 before returning home to play host to Southern Arkansas on Sept. 11 at Bobcat Stadium.

Texas State ended the 2009 season with a 7-4 record and was ranked 24th by the FCS Coaches poll and 25th by The Sports Network. The rankings mark the first time in school history that the Bobcats have been nationally-ranked in FCS polls during two consecutive seasons. Texas State recorded its first back-to-back winning seasons since 1991.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.