San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

July 26th, 2010
Sheriff's golf tournament features winning teams and sponsors


Left to right: Hays County Sheriff Tommy Ratliff with first place team members Daniel Zamora, Brandon Ronshausen, Chad Fuller and Danny Keeling.


Hays County Sheriff Tommy Ratliff hosted the Hays County Sheriff’s Office Scholarship Golf Tournament last month at the Quicksand at Woodcreek Golf Club in Wimberley.

The annual tournament raises funds for scholarships for each high school in Hays County. Funds also go towards the support of Court Appointed Special Advocates (CASA) of Central Texas, the Hays County Future Farmers of America (FFA) and 4H.

“This is a great event that helps children all over Hays County,” said Ratliff.

Thirteen teams competed in the tournament this year. The first place team consisted of Danny Keeling, Daniel Zamora, Brandon Ronshausen and Chad Fuller. The second place team was Herman Kast, Clifford Jacoby, Brian Ritchie and Wayman Curry. In third place was the team of Eugene Carranza, Marty Espinoza, Todd Riffe and Tommy Villanueva.

Ratliff extended special thanks to the sponsors.

Sponsors for the event were in three categories, platinum, gold and silver. The platinum sponsors included JE Dunn Construction, Golfsmith, Carved Stone and Mid States. Gold sponsors were Dick Scott and Dodie Juarez, G&R Electrical Construction, Inc., and Quicksand at Woodcreek. Silver Sponsors included Texas Lehigh Cement, Pegasus Schools Inc., Broaddus and Associates and Dan and Betty Roberts.

Individual hole sponsors included Ratliff, Constable James Kohler, Steinman Luevano Structures, Hays County Precinct 2 Commissioner Jeff Barton (D-Kyle) and Security Bank and Trust. Other hole sponsors were Casabella Architects, Centurylink, Kyle Police Department (KPD) Chief Michael Blake, Hays CISD Trustee Mark Jones. Hays County Judge candidate Burt Cobb, Dentrust Dental and Capital Rubber Stamp.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.