San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

June 9th, 2010
Bullin, Kabakov named to CoSIDA academic team


Texas State track and field athletes Heather Bullin and Dmitri Kabakov were named to the ESPN The Magazine All-District first teams announced by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA).

Bullin, a native of Cedar Park, graduated in May with a 3.89 grade point average (GPA) and a degree in exercise and sports science. The distance runner was named to the CoSIDA academic all-District VI team for the second straight year.

Bullin has been named to the Dean’s List every semester of enrollment and is a four-time Oak Farms Academic Award Winner. In 2007, Bullin was named a Cream of the Crop Winner for 4.0 GPA. She also was selected to the Southland Conference Commissioner’s Honor Roll from 2007-2009 and was named to 2009 All-Southland Conference academic team.

Bullin finished her Bobcat career this past outdoor season by placing seventh in the 10,000 meters and tenth in the 5,000 meters at the Southland Conference Outdoor Championships.

Kabakov, a native of Jerusalem, posted a 3.71 graduate GPA while earning a master’s degree in industrial technology to earn first-team placement on the CoSIDA team. He graduated magna cum laude in May 2009 with a degree in manufacturing engineering.

As an undergraduate, Kabakov was named to the Dean’s List six times. A four-time Oak Farms Academic Award recipient, Kabakov also was selected to the Southland Conference Honor Roll every year.

Kabakov won the silver medal in the pole vault at the 2009 Southland Conference Indoor Championships with a height of 4.80 meters for his best showing in the event as a Bobcat. Kabakov placed in the top 10 in either the pole vault or the multi events eight times at Texas State and qualified for the NCAA Midwest Regional in 2006.

Bullin and Kabakov will have their names on the Academic All-America ballot. The men’s Academic All-America team will be released June 22 and the women’s team will be announced on June 24.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.