San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

June 8th, 2010
Two named outstanding mentors at Texas State


Kenneth Margerison, a professor in Texas State’s Department of History, and Jesse Silva, a student development specialist II in the Office of Multicultural Student Affairs, have been named recipients of the Mariel M. Muir Excellence in Mentoring Awards for 2010.

The awards are given annually to one faculty member and one staff member who provide exceptional support and show exceptional commitment to assisting less experienced individuals in becoming more proficient in their professional activities.

A selection committee composed of faculty and staff reviewed the nominees for the awards.

The award is named for the former dean of the College of Science because of her passion for ensuring the success of students, faculty and staff through mentoring.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.