San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas
Email Email | Print Print --

June 7th, 2010
Stapp wins third straight at Thunderhill


KYLE — Cary Stapp of San Marcos continued to dominate the pro trucks events at Thunderhill Raceway in a racing show Saturday night.

Stapp  turned in the fastest qualifying time and started the 30-lap feature race in the second position. But he passed pole-sitter Jim Albert of Lockhart for the lead on the fourth lap to claim his third consecutive win at Thunderhill Raceway.

The night’s action included nine races and a daredevil stunt spectacular presented by Dr. Danger and performed by the TXRD Lonestar Rollergirls.

Charles Aikin of Round Rock claimed his first TSRS Allison Legacy win this year, starting in the fourth position and taking the lead on the 20th lap of the 25-lap race. Andy Taylor of Pearland won the 27-lap NasKart race, and Joey Tschoerner of Bartlett was awarded the trophy in the 20-lap thunder stock race after Bryon Reed of San Marcos was given a post-race technical infraction for ride height.

Terry James of Manchaca claimed victory in the 15-lap SportMod race after passing former TSRS late model driver Teresa Gural of Elgin for the lead on the second lap.

The caution-filled ASA A-Line super stock race became a matter of survival for the 12 drivers who took the green flag. Brent Reeves of Converse started on the pole and led the first four laps until the first caution was thrown. Clint LaFont of Volente, who is the current leader in the ASA national championship standings, started near the back of the field and was working his way to the front. However, LaFont, Shawn Paul Lehman of Manchaca and J.C. Pilcher of Castroville tried to go three-wide in turn three on the seventh lap, and Lehman and LaFont tangled. LaFont sustained severe front-end damage and was towed to the pits. Mason Teague of Paige, who was the 2009 Thunderhill thunder stock champion, took the lead on the restart and held on for the checkered flag. LaFont was officially scored with an eighth-place finish.

After turning in the fastest qualifying time for the TSRS late models, Bobby Teer, Jr., drew the pole position. He held off hard charges by Robert Barker and Austin Self and managed to maintain the lead until the end of the 35-lap feature race.

Brandon Spreen of Boerne, who is the current points’ leader in the mini stocks, started out in the 12th position and quickly worked his way up through the field in the 20-lap feature event.  On the fourth lap, he grabbed the lead from Taylor Wright of McQueeney and held on for the win.

In the grand stocks, Brandon Gaither of LaVernia started on the pole and battled with Mike Farish of Kempner for side-by-side racing for several laps. After taking the lead on the 12th lap, Farish was unable to maintain control coming out of the fourth turn on the outside and hit the front straightway wall almost head-on, to bring out the red flag. Marcia Moore of Cedar Creek then took over the challenge for the lead, but Gaither held on to the front position until the end of the 20-lap feature race. It was Gaither’s first feature win. The victory moves him up to second place in the points’ race, behind Moore.

Four fiery stunts were presented by Dr. Dangers throughout the evening and awed the fans – including a redneck ring o’fire, 50-yard flash, suicide car explosion and an explosive car jump into a travel trailer.

The racing action will return to Thunderhill June 19, with double-feature events for the ASA A-Line super stocks.

Email Email | Print Print


0 thoughts on “Stapp wins third straight at Thunderhill

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *