San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

May 18th, 2010
Texas State AAF team to compete in nationals


The American Advertising Federation (AAF) team at Texas State won first place in the District 10 competition held in April. The team now advances to the national competition scheduled to take place June 10-12  in Orlando, FL.

District 10 included universities from Texas, Oklahoma, Arkansas and Louisiana.

The Texas State team of 20 students will compete with schools from across the country, including a second team from District 10, the University of Houston.

Judges at the district competition said that Texas State’s team truly understood the client/brand, had the research to prove it and executed a strong strategy based on that research. The student presenters were Dan Wehmeier, Marissa Deslatte, Julie Korzekwa, Gabe Carrillo and Ben Wirtz.

It is the 12th time Texas State has advanced to the national competition in the last 20 years, where they have won two national championships and placed in the top four a total of seven times.

The multi-disciplinary AAF team includes marketing majors, advertising majors, public relations majors and communication design majors. Their faculty advisors are Mary Ann Stutts, professor of marketing in the McCoy College of Business Administration and Alexander Muk, assistant professor of advertising in the School of Journalism and Mass Communication.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *