San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

May 10th, 2010
Two San Marcos CISD teachers to compete for Texas Teacher of the Year

050710toysregGoing on to regional competition for Texas Teacher of the year are San Marcos CISD’s Roxana Heiser, left, and Brenda Butler, right. Photo by Iris Campbell.


San Marcos CISD teachers Brenda Butler of Mendez Elementary School and Rosana Heiser of Owen Goodnight Middle School have been selected to compete at the regional level in the Texas Teacher of the Year (TOY) program sanctioned by the Texas Education Agency (TEA).

Ten teachers at  San Marcos CISD were selected by their peers for Teacher of the Year honors. The two honorees were announced last week at a San Marcos CISD teacher appreciation banquet sponsored by Time Warner Cable.

After a video featuring the ten teachers was shown at the banquet, San Marcos CISD Superintendent Patty Shafer announced Butler and Heiser as the regional entries.

All of San Marcos CISD’s  ten honorees will be recognized by the San Marcos City Council on May 18 at City Hall.

The eight other honorees include Bowie Elementary School’s Jesse Villalobos, Crockett Elementary School’s Jennifer Cortez, De Zavala Elementary School’s Frances Rivas, Hernandez Elementary School’s Carl Contreras, Travis Elementary School’s Rebecca Marini, Miller Middle School’s Tracy Estrada, San Marcos High School’s Lino Carrillo and Mike Montgomery of the Phoenix Academy alternative campus.


Teachers of the Year honorees, front row, left to right: Rebecca Marini, Frances Rivas, Roxana Heiser, Tracy Estrada, Brenda Butler. Back row, left to right: Jesse Villalobos, Lino Carrillo, Mike Montgomery, Jennifer Cortez, Carl Contreras.

Email Email | Print Print


0 thoughts on “Two San Marcos CISD teachers to compete for Texas Teacher of the Year

  1. Congratulations to our Teachers of the Year and a huge thank you to all of the educators throughout the San Marcos CISD! We value your continued service to our children and community!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.