San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

April 27th, 2010
SMBA senior wins Optimist Club award

042010awardSan Marcos Academy senior Alex Vletas (left) received the Capital Area Optimist Club’s award for community service from Danny Rodgers, right, the president-elect of Optimist International.


San Marcos Baptist Academy sent 18 seniors to compete against students from 13 other area schools in the Optimist Club’s Youth Appreciation Awards program held last month at the state capitol building in Austin.

The Academy Color Guard  presented colors for the ceremony. The guard consisted of cadets Jeb Yearwood, Tiara Hansen, Shane Boyer, Tony Tran and Zack Middleton. It was the 23rd year the academy presented the colors at the awards.

Alex Vletas received the Capital Area Optimist Clubs award for community service at the event.

Seniors nominated by the Academy for Optimist awards included Nolan Rutland for drama, Sam Boothby and Chloe Rocha for sports and Kristi Allison for community service and teenager of the year. Steven Huang and Siqi Liang were nominated for science, Phung Hoang and Caitlyn Scott for art and SeungPyo Hong and Seojin Yim for foreign language.

Other nominees were Blake Grimes for speech,  Maggie Boylan for English, Vishal Singh for English and Teenager of the Year, Daylon Hethcock and Alyona Hansen for government, Conley Li and Dandan Li for math and Kevin Lin and Alyssa Shallenberger for instrumental music.

042010colorgThe San Marcos Baptist Academy Color Guard posts colors for the Capital Area Optimist Clubs Youth Appreciation Ceremony in the state House of Representatives Chamber.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.