San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

April 16th, 2010
SMBA track teams make good showing at Maroon Relays

041510smbatrackSan Marcos Baptist Academy Bear Josh McIntyre finishes his leg of the 400-meter relay in a recent meet.


The San Marcos Baptist Academy (SMBA) boys track team has had a week off to prepare for the Texas Association of Private and Parochial Schools (TAPPS) District 3-4 A track meet taking place on April 23. The Bears anticipate a strong showing at the event.

While the SMBA Bears were outrun by two of the larger Class 5-A schools at the Maroon Relays at San Antonio Christian last week, they managed to place third in the event.

“We would have placed higher, but we didn’t have a strong showing in the longer distance races,” said Coach Kelia Price. “We feel good about the district meet, though, and expect that several of our athletes will eventually qualify for state.”

Mark Latham snagged first place finishes in both the 100- and 200-meter runs at the event and anchored the 400-meter relay team in a second place finish with relay teammates Brady Wickersham, Josh McIntyre and Anthony Richardson. The relay team has placed first or second in every meet this year so far.

Josh McIntyre’s proficiency at the 300-meter hurdles has garnered him strong showings in the Bears’ last two meets and had him finishing first in the meet at San Antonio Christian. He has now placed first at in the 300-meter hurdles in every meet this year. Relay teammate Brady Wickersham captured first place in the high jump at the meet.

John Nealon was another top finisher for the Bears, taking first place in the 800-meter race. Aubrey Oswalt took third place in the 400-meter dash and Mark Hamm took fourth in the triple jump.

On the field, John Ferguson took fourth place in shot put, while Estevan Gutierrez ranked fifth in discus.

The girls track and field team, composed primarily of freshmen, competed in the junior varsity category, landing a first-place finish in the 400-meter relay. The winning team includes Mallaree Kent, Kayla Chandler, Oby Okoye, and Jackie Oglesby.

Rebecca Cox placed fourth in shot put.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *