San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

January 17th, 2010
Appraisal district installs new board of directors


Newly  elected members of the Hays Central Appraisal District will take the oath of office at 4 p.m. Jan. 21 at the Lex Word Building, Appraisal District office located at 21001 IH-35 North in Kyle.

A political subdivision of the State of Texas, the district is responsible  for appraising property for the purpose of ad valorem tax assessment on behalf of the governing bodies in Hays County.

“Our office develops and administers property records and provides appraisal roll services to all the taxing jurisdictions in Hays County,” David G. Valle, the district’s chief appraiser said.

The board’s main duties are to hire the chief appraiser, approve a budget and generally act as the governing body. Directors are elected by votes cast by the governing bodies in the county, specifically schools, cities and county government. Each of the taxing entities in Hays County may nominate a representative to the board every two years. The votes that are cast are determined by the amount of taxable property in each of the governmental jurisdiction.

This year these governing bodies elected seven directors. Hays CISD had 1,661 votes, Hays County had 1,536 votes, San Marcos CISD had 1,376 votes, Dripping Springs ISD had 1,203 votes, Wimberley ISD had 571 votes, and the City of San Marcos had 402 votes.

Board members are Luanne Caraway, Hays County; Joe Castillo, San Marcos CISD; Galen Dodson, Dripping Springs ISD; Chris Jones, City of San Marcos; Dennis  Miller, Hays CISD; Abel Tenorio, Hays CISD and Dave Williams, Wimberley ISD. All directors serve a two-year term.


Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *