San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas
Email Email | Print Print --

January 11th, 2010
New San Marcos board appointees begin their work


The San Marcos City Council has appointed 55 citizens to serve on 16 City boards and commissions beginning in 2010.

“The participation of citizens in our decision-making processes is essential to effective government,” said Mayor Susan Narvaiz. “The City Council appreciates the dedication and important contributions of so many citizens through their service on our boards and commissions.”

An orientation session is scheduled for January 26 at 4 p.m. at Embassy Suites with a reception following at 5 p.m. The new board members will be instructed in Robert’s Rules of Order, the City’s Ethics Code, and Open Meetings.

San Marcos boards generally have staggered terms ranging from 2 to 3 years. The City Council will wrap up appointments at its January 19 meeting.

Here are the City Council’s recent appointments:

  • Airport Commission: reappointed John A. Diaz, Ronald Dickens and Shaune Fraser, and appointed Dan Gibson and Shaune Maycock.
  • Animal Shelter Advisory Board: reappointed Mark Brinkley and Bert Stratemann.
  • Arts Commission: reappointed Dianne McCabe and Arlis Hiebert, and appointed Jennifer Roby.
  • Construction Board of Appeals: appointed Clark Huff and Mathew Swihart.
  • Convention and Visitors’ Bureau Board: reappointed Michelle Carswell, Richard Weik, and appointed Bryan Miller, T. Cay Rowe and Ann DuPont.
  • Economic Development Board: reappointed Wayne Becak, Debbie Ingalsbe and Perry Moore.
  • Historic Preservation Commission: reappointed Kevin Romig and appointed Polly Wright.
  • Housing Authority: City Council changed board from 5 to 7 members, reappointed Rev. Samuel Montoya and Earl Moseley, and appointed Paulette Wallington and Ovelia Mercado.
  • Human Services Advisory Board: reappointed David Case, Anita Fuller, Bill Daniels and Thomas Rhoades, and appointed Gregory Foster.
  • Library Board: reappointed Michael Hennessey, and appointed Linda Coker, John Meeks and Betty Nagy.
  • Main Street Advisory Board: reappointed Ralph Meyers and Dave Newman; and appointed Bill Cunningham and Rob Robinson.
  • Parks and Recreation Board: reappointed Bill Taylor and Steve Sunquist, and appointed Peter Ingwersen, Robert Mooney, Chad Williams and Sheila Torres-Blank.
  • Planning and Zoning Commission: appointed Christopher Wood, Jude Prather and Bryon “Bucky” Couch.
  • San Marcos/Hays County EMS Committee: appointed Mayor Susan Narvaiz
  • Veterans’ Affairs Advisory Committee: appointed David Adams.
  • Zoning Board of Adjustments: reappointed Saul Gonzales, Pax Chagnon and Gary Gooch as voting members; and appointed Augustine Agwele (first alternate) and Joe Hessalroad (second alternate).
Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.