San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

December 23rd, 2009
Embassy Suites wins TWC award

1Embassy Suites AwardFrom left to right: Commissioner Representing Labor for the Texas Workforce Commission Ronald G. Congleton,  Board Chair for Workforce Solutions Rural Capital Area Margaret Lindsey,  General Manager of Embassy Suites- San Marcos Hotel, Spa and Conference Center Tom Pugh,  HR Director of Embassy Suites – San Marcos Hotel, Spa, and Conference Center Paulina Palomo and Chairman of the Texas Workforce Commission (TWC) Tom Pauken.


The San Marcos Embassy Suites Hotel, Spa and City of San Marcos Conference Center recently received the Employer Award of Excellence for the Workforce Solutions Rural Capital Area. The honor was given at the Texas Workforce Commission’s (TWC) 13th Annual Texas Workforce Conference, which was held Dec. 2-4 in Grapevine.

The award honors employers that are involved actively with their local workforce boards and have made a positive impact on workers, employers and the community.

“Texas employers that use valuable services available from their local workforce development boards have a distinct advantage in the marketplace,” said Andres Alcantar, TWC Commissioner Representing the Public. “I’d like to congratulate Embassy Suites San Marcos – Hotel, Spa and Conference Center and Workforce Solutions Rural Capital Area for their contribution to their region and the state of Texas.”

San Marcos Embassy Suites collaborated with Workforce Solutions Rural Capital Area and the City of San Marcos to accomodate the burgeoning need for hotel and meeting space along the Interstate-35 corridor. When the hotel opened in 2008, it brought more than 200 jobs to the area.

The hotel management turned to Workforce Solution Capital Area through every development phase, whether for hiring needs, local labor market information or recruitment assistance. The facility hosts groups of up to 3,000 people.

Workforce Solutions Rural Capital Area is one of the 28 local workforce boards located throughout the state. The board serves Bastrop, Blanco, Burnet, Caldwell, Fayette, Hays, Lee, Llano and Williamson Counties.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *