San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

November 24th, 2009
George named league's best offensive player


How does a player win Offensive Player of the Year in his conference, yet wind up honorable mention on the all-conference team?

It can only happen in the quarterback-heavy Southland Conference, where Texas State quarterback Bradley George was named Offensive Player of the Year Tuesday, only for two other quarterbacks to share the Player of the Year Award.

Stephen F. Austin (SFA) quarterback Jeremy Moses and McNeese State quarterback Derrick Fourroux beat George to the all-conference teams, with Fourroux being named first-team quarterback and Moses being named second team quarterback.

SFA and McNeese both are going to the NCAA playoffs, SFA as the league champion and McNeese as an at-large team. They finished tied on top of the Southland Conference this year at 6-1, followed by Texas State at 5-2.

George finished his senior season in 2009 as Texas State’s all-time career leader in passing yards (9,556), total yards (9,786), attempts (1,277), completions (753) and touchdown passes (76).

Fourroux, a senior ended the regular season as McNeese’s all-time leader in total offense with 10,038 yards. Moses, a junior, already is the all-time leader at SFA with 8,787 passing yards and 83 touchdowns.

The Bobcats put two players on the conference first team. Sophomore D.J. Hall was named to the first team as an offensive guard. Hall made the second team in 2008 as a freshman. Sophomore Mishak Rivas went on the first team as a return specialist after bringing back 22 kickoffs for 506 yards.

Junior wide receiver Da’Marcus Griggs made the second-team offense for Texas State. Griggs set the Texas State single-season record with 80 receptions in 2009. Defensive end Travis Houston made the second team defense for the Bobcats after making 53 tackles, including 8.5 for losses.

Other Texas State players named honorable mention, besides George, were running back Alvin Canady, offensive linemen Calvin Gore and Alex Luna, defensive lineman Adley Eshraghipour, linebacker Marcus Clark and defensive back Will Thompson.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *