San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

August 19th, 2009
Texas State KDP 'aces' award


The Texas State chapter of Kappa Delta Pi (KDP) will receive its second consecutive Achieving Chapter Excellence (ACE) award in October at the KDP National Convocation in Orlando Florida.

KDP is an international honor society in education that promotes excellence in the field of education. The ACE awards are presented each biennium (every two years) to those chapters that can demonstrate excellence and dedication to the organization’s ideals. This is done through a strict application procedure in which specific examples of the chapter’s programs are documented and rated.

Only 29 out of the 667 chapters applying for this honor were chosen as ACE awardees in this biennial cycle.

“The local Kappa Delta Pi chapter is very active,” said Nathan Bond, associate professor and president-elect of the Texas State chapter. “Our work centers on the following four areas: recognizing academic excellence in students, cultivating leadership skills, providing ongoing professional development for our members and completing service projects.”

KDP was founded in 1911 at the University of Illinois. It has grown to be an international organization with 582 chapters and more than 45,000 members.  Famous former KDP members include Albert Einstein, George Washington Carver, Eleanor Roosevelt and Margaret Mead. The Texas State chapter was founded in 1951 and currently has more than 200 members.

“This national award is a great testimony to the collective efforts of the students, faculty, staff and administrators in our college and department,” Bond said.

Speakers for the convocation this year are Barbara Morgan, NASA’s first professional educator/astronaut on the space shuttle Endeavor and National Teacher of the Year, Anthony Mullen.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.