San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

August 17th, 2009
Eight receive Bobcat academic rings


Eight current and former Texas State student-athletes received their Bobcat Club Academic Rings in a special ceremony before marching in graduation ceremonies on the Texas State campus on Aug. 14.

The student-athletes included football player Wellington Deshield; men’s basketball players Brent Benson, Jeff Foster and Dylan Moseley; women’s basketball players Ryann Bradford, Ashley Cole and Joyce Ekworomadu; along with David Hernandez of the men’s track and field team.

Deshield started all 13 games as a nose guard for Texas State’s 2008 football team that won the Southland Conference championship and played in the NCAA Division I FCS Playoffs for the second time in four years. Deshield recorded 41 tackles, which included 23 solo stops and three tackles for losses in 2008.

Benson averaged 15.3 points and led the Bobcats with a 43.8 three-point shooting percentage, while Moseley averaged nearly three points per game as he played an average of 10 minutes per contest. They helped lead Texas State to its first appearance in the Southland Conference Tournament in the last four years.

Foster, who led Texas State’s last NCAA men’s basketball tournament team in 1999, is a current member of the Indiana Pacers who returned to Texas State to finish requirements for his bachelor’s degree in applied arts this summer. A 10-year NBA veteran with the Pacers, Foster ranks fourth on the team’s all-time career list for games played with 681. He also is one of the greatest offensive rebounders in team history after he ranked 13th among NBA leaders with 215 offensive rebounds, marking the sixth consecutive season in which he has grabbed 200 or more offensive boards.

Cole averaged 9.5 points per game as a senior this past season at Texas State after chipping in with 11.4 points per contest during her junior campaign. Bradford averaged nearly three points each of the last two years, while helping the team win the SLC championship and a first-round WNIT game in 2007-08.

Another key figure in Texas State’s 2007-08 SLC championship season was Ekworomadu, who was named the SLC Player of the Year and SLC Student-Athlete of the Year in 2008 after averaging 18.7 points, 5.1 rebounds and 1.8 assists before playing overseas in Europe this past year.

Hernandez had an eighth place finish in the shot put with a mark of 52 feet, 1¾ inches at the 2009 Southland Conference Championships.

The Texas State Athletics Department initiated the Ring Ceremony in May 1986. The ceremony is held at the end of each fall and spring semesters, in conjunction with graduation ceremonies. To earn this symbol of academic and athletic achievement, student-athletes must have received the “T” Letter from the athletics department, completed NCAA eligibility at Texas State and earned an undergraduate degree within one year after NCAA eligibility has been completed.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.