San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas
Email Email | Print Print --

July 3rd, 2009
Nominations being accepted for San Marcos distinguished alumni


Nominations are being accepted for the 2009 San Marcos High School Distinguished Alumnus Hall of Fame.

“This award recognizes outstanding alumni of San Marcos High School who have maintained a high standard of excellence and made a significant contribution in their fields of endeavor,” said Daniel Guerrero, the San Marcos Education Foundation’s executive director. “The nominees must best exemplify the ideals and spirit of San Marcos High School and should serve as role models for current and future San Marcos High School students.”

Recipients, who are chosen by a panel of San Marcos High School graduates, current Hall of Fame members and community leaders, are alumni who have excelled in their chosen professions, who have served the community through volunteerism, social service, and leadership, and whose integrity and stature serve as an example to the San Marcos community and beyond.

Honorees will be inducted into the San Marcos High School Distinguished Alumnus Hall of Fame as part of the 2009 Rattler Roundup festivities, slated for October 16-17.

Nominations should include a cover letter about the nominee; a biography, resume or professional vitae; the class year of graduation; and contact information on the nominee and the person who submits the nomination.

The deadline for nominations is July 31, 2009. Nominations may be emailed to Diana (Becker) Finlay Hendricks (SMHS Class of 75), SMHS DSA Chair, at; or mailed to San Marcos Education Foundation, Attention Distinguished Alumnus Nomination, PO Box 671, San Marcos, Texas 78667.

For more information, please call (512) 618-3373 or email

Former honorees include Dr. Gwen K. Smith, ‘33; Handler Smith, ‘53; Ross King, ‘54; Walter “Bud” Burnett, ‘56; Virginia Cox Witte, ‘56; Harry Max Reasoner, ‘56; Dolores Crittendon, ‘56; Joyce Able, ‘58; Bill Pennington, ‘60; John Diaz, ‘61; Dale Linebarger, ‘61; Rusty Phillips, ‘62; Reece Morrison, ‘64; Richard Cruz, ‘65; Frank Arredondo, ‘65; Tricia Tingle, ‘73; Troy Kimmel, ‘75; and Rob Thomas, ’83, Dottie Payne Sims, ’40; Frank Contreras, ’55; Randall Morris, ’65; Cinnamon Linda Stouffer Strassmann, ’88; Dr. Liz Champagne Johnson, ’69;  John Roberts, ’62; and Dr. Melba Vasquez, ’69, and Ruben Ruiz, ‘69.

Alumni are invited to come home to San Marcos for the All Class Reunion Oct. 16-17 for events including the Alumni and Friends Rattler Cup Golf Scramble at the Plum Creek Golf Club in Kyle and the Annual Alumni Dinner and Dance at the Embassy Suites Hotel and Conference Center on Saturday.

The dinner and dance will include the recognition of 2009 Distinguished Alumni, dinner and dancing in the smaller ballrooms featuring music and dance of each decade. Friday night will be open for individual classes to have private social events at locations of their choices in San Marcos.

A block of rooms has been reserved at the Embassy Suites for Oct. 16-17 at a rate of $129 plus tax. To reserve your room, call 512-392-6450 or visit the hotel’s Web site here before September 16. Enter group code SMR to receive the special discount.

For information and updates visit the alumni association’s Web site here.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.