San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas
Email Email | Print Print --

June 26th, 2009
Optimists honor essay winners

Winners of the 2009 essay contest.


A reception was recently held by the San Marcos Optimist Club for the winners of its annual essay contest.

The 2009 essay topic was “The Youth of Tomorrow.” Applications went out to San Marcos High School, Gary Job Corps High School, Hays ISD, and San Marcos Academy.

Ashley Soecting of San Marcos Academy took first place. Hays CISD student Rachel Purnell come in second. Adam Rollins and Kelsey Henry for San Marcos Academy tied for third. Each winner received a cash scholarship and a certificate of congratulations.

“What amazing essays,” said 2009 contest chairperson Diana Guerrero. “We were so proud of all the entries.”

The club expressed thanks to Steven DeLeon, Lucy Wilder and Crystal Abete for judging the essays.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.