San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

June 12th, 2009
Texas State announces faculty research leaves


Five Texas State University faculty members have been awarded $20,000 faculty development leave supplemental grants to assist in upcoming research initiatives.

Named to receive the grants for the 2009-2010 academic year were Maria Daniela Ferrero, associate professor of mathematics; Alberto Giordano, associate professor of geography; Nico Schuler, associate professor of music; Julie Westerlund, associate professor of biology; and Ha-Chin Yi, associate professor of finance and economics.

This is the second year Texas State has offered the supplemental grants under its faculty development leave program. The grants are meant to assist faculty in their research efforts and may be used for travel and lodging, the purchase of equipment and materials, and as salary supplements.

Another 18 faculty members were approved for faculty development leaves during the upcoming academic year.

They are: David Caverly, professor of curriculum and instruction; Richard Dixon, associate professor of geography; Kathleen Fite, professor of curriculum and instruction; James Garber, professor of anthropology; Valentina Glajar, associate professor of modern languages; Maureen Keeley, professor of communication studies; James Kimmel, professor of geography; Eric Kirby, associate professor of management; and Susan Kirby, associate professor of management.

Also approved for faculty development leave were Daniel Lochman, professor of English; N. Chinna Natesan, associate professor of marketing; Charles Ney, professor of theatre and dance; James R. Ott, associate professor of biology; Kate L. Peirce, professor of journalism and mass communication; Raul I. Rodriguez, associate professor of music; Phillip Salem, professor of communication studies; Joseph K. Yick, professor of history; and Lijun Yuan, associate professor of philosophy.


Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.