San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

June 6th, 2009
Letter: Don’t return PEC to control of special interest groups


We are in the final days of the election for the PEC board of directors. After many years of election by proxy with only one candidate of choice, we are able to select from ten candidates for two of the seats. Eight of us entered what we believed was a democratic election process where we would win or lose based upon our merit and campaign efforts. However, we independent candidates have been cast aside by two Special Interest Groups (SIGs) who have their own agenda and their own common candidates. Behind the scenes, the members of these SIGs are all interconnected.

Last year, these same SIGs selected their own candidates and two of them are now voting members on the board. One of them was for a one year term and is being endorsed again this year as an unopposed candidate. PEC4U and Clean Water Action, aided by Public Citizen, have decided that they—and only they—know what is best for our co-op. They have endorsed two more of their chosen candidates, and have launched a massive neighborhood and phone canvassing campaign to get them elected. If their endorsed, hand-picked candidates are elected, these SIGs—not the PEC members—will now control the board and our co-op. Remember, SIG means “special interest group” which translates to narrow interest. One of their endorsed candidates is a close friend and associate of an already seated director. So PEC will merely move from one “good ole boy” group to another. This is not good for PEC. Our members deserve to have equal, non-partisan representation.

As you make your voting choices, please consider the independent candidates who do not have hidden agendas or ties to current board members or special interest groups. These SIGs only comprise about 3 percent of the PEC membership. However, they are a voting 3 percent determined to control our co-op. If you believe in true democracy, VOTE for an independent candidate. All the independent board candidates believe in openness and transparency, clean energy, and sound fiscal management. Mail-in ballots and online voting is open until June 12. If you have lost your ballot or need assistance with voting, call 1-866-720-4357.

District 1: Sandy Jenkins, Bill Wilcox, Mark Mayfield

District 6: Linda Kaye Rogers, Robbie Boone, Daryl Losaw, Teresa Rourke

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *