San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas
Email Email | Print Print --

May 13th, 2009
Moser wins McDonald scholarship


Texas State women’s basketball player Marie Moser is one of two recipients of the Southland Conference’s F.L. McDonald Scholarship, presented by Capital One Bank. Moser will be honored, along with Northwestern State baseball player Jordan Nipp, during the Southland Honors Ceremony May 28 in Galveston.

The McDonald Scholarship is the league’s ultimate academic honor for its top graduates. The award is presented annually to graduating male and female letter-winners with the highest cumulative grade point averages during their enrollments at Southland member schools. The $2,500 scholarship must be applied to graduate study at an institution of the recipient’s choice.

“The Southland Conference is thrilled to honor Jordan and Marie with the league’s premier academic awards,” league commissioner Tom Burnett said. “Both Jordan and Marie exemplify the ideals of the F.L. McDonald Scholarship, and we couldn’t be more proud of their academic and athletic achievements.”

Moser will graduate this spring from Texas State with a 3.91 GPA as a biochemistry major. A native of Cedar Rapids, IA, Moser was named the chemistry department’s outstanding biochemistry senior and plans on attending medical school in the Midwest with hopes of becoming a licensed physician.

A fifth-year senior, Moser had used up her eligibility before the 2008-09 season, but she continued to have an impact with the Bobcats. As a player, Moser played an instrumental role for her team, taking part in 60 of her team’s 62 games from the start of her sophomore season in 2006 to the conclusion of her final campaign in 2008. She shot better than 44 percent from the field and averaged more than four points, 3.5 rebounds and 14 minutes per game during her career, which included 32 starts. She was named to the All-Academic women’s basketball team in 2007-08 and was on the 2008 Spring Honor Roll.

Before enrolling at Texas State, Moser was named a Collegiate All-American Scholar while attending Illinois Central College (ICC). She was also named to the ICC President’s List and Athletic Director’s Honor Roll while helping lead the Cougars to the NJCAA Division II national title in 2005-06. Moser was valedictorian of her high school class and was named to the National Dean’s List, the Presidents’ List and the National Council of Youth Leadership.

As an undergraduate, Nipp posted a near-perfect 3.977 GPA in biology, a field he will specialize in when he enrolls in post-graduate school at Texas Tech later this year with hopes of becoming a physical therapist.

The award was established in memory of Dr. F.L. McDonald in 1996-97. McDonald is a former president of Lamar University and 1999 Southland Hall of Honor inductee. McDonald served as Lamar’s president in 1963 when the Southland Conference was established and is considered one of the league’s founding fathers.

Each member institution may nominate one male and one female student-athlete who is a letterwinner in a conference sport, on track to graduate during the spring in which they are nominated or the subsequent summer, and planning to attend graduate school no later than the second fall following the receipt of the award.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.