San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

May 6th, 2009
Hays CISD announces 2009 Teachers of the Year


Hays CISD announced its 2009 Teachers of the Year, who will be treated to a luncheon at the Onion Creek Country Club hosted by the Hays CISD Education Foundation.

A teacher representative for each of the district’s 19 campuses, plus a special education teacher, is given the honor every spring by peers.

Additionally, an elementary and secondary Teacher of the Year from the district will enter the regional and statewide Teacher of the Year competition, sponsored by the Texas Education Agency. In the past six years, three teachers from the district – Jim Cullen, Renee Herrington and Paige Collier – have represented the district in the statewide competition.

The 2009 Teachers of the Year, and their campuses, are listed below.

  • Stacey Magnesio – Kyle Elementary School
  • Mandy Taylor – Elm Grove Elementary School
  • Andi Bosar – Buda Elementary School
  • Ashley Taylor – Tom Green Elementary School
  • Karen Bumpous – Fuentes Elementary School
  • Emily Herrin – Hemphill Elementary School
  • T.J. Moreno – Negley Elementary School
  • Peggy Cuevas – Science Hall Elementary School
  • Michelle McCoy – Tobias Elementary School
  • Esmeralda Perez-Gonzales – Camino Real Elementary School
  • Halley Ortiz – Wallace Middle School
  • Rebecca Colonnetta – Dahlstrom Middle School
  • Karen Sinor – Barton Middle School
  • Samantha Tuttle – Chapa Middle School
  • Kerri Espinoza – Hays High School
  • Haylie Sansom – Lehman High School
  • Doug Agnew – Academy High School
  • Judy Schnautz – The Impact Center
  • Tracy Ward – Special Education
Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.