San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

May 5th, 2009
Hays CISD honors its Teachers of the Year


Hays Consolidated Independent School District’s Teachers of the Year will be treated to a luncheon on Wednesday at the Onion Creek Country Club, hosted by the Hays CISD Education Foundation. A teacher representative from each of the district’s 19 campuses, plus a Special Education teacher, is named every spring by their peers.

An elementary Teacher of the Year and secondary Teacher of the Year for the district will enter the regional and statewide Teacher of the Year competition, sponsored by the Texas Education Agency. In the past six years, three teachers from Hays CISD — Jim Cullen, Renee Herrington and Paige Collier — have represented Central Texas in the statewide competition.

This year’s honorees are:

  • Stacey Magnesio Kyle Elementary School
  • Mandy Taylor of Elm Grove Elementary School
  • Andi Bosar of Buda Elementary School
  • Ashley Taylor of Tom Green Elementary School
  • Karen Bumpous of Fuentes Elementary School
  • Emily Herrin of Hemphill Elementary School
  • T.J. Moreno of Negley Elementary School
  • Peggy Cuevas of Science Hall Elementary School
  • Michelle McCoy of Tobias Elementary School
  • Halley Ortiz of Wallace Middle School
  • Rebecca Colonnetta of Dahlstrom Middle School
  • Karen Sinor of Barton Middle School
  • Samantha Tuttle of Chapa Middle School
  • Kerri Espinoza of Hays High School
  • Haylie Sansom of Lehman High School
  • Doug Agnew of Academy High School
  • Judy Schnautz of The Impact Center
  • Tracy Ward of Special Education


Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.