San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

April 22nd, 2009
Candidates announced for June PEC election


Pedernales Electric Cooperative (PEC) announced the 11 PEC members who are eligible to run in its upcoming June board election in District 1, District 6 and District 7. The candidates are:

  • Director, District 1 – Mark A Mayfield, Bill Wilcox, Christi Clement and Sandra P. “Sandy” Jenkins.
  • Director, District 6 – Theresa Rourke, Larry Landaker, Linda Kaye Rogers, Robbi Boone, David Bethancourt and Daryl Losaw.
  • Director, District 7 – Patrick Cox.

The order of candidates on the ballot was determined by a random drawing, and the election will be overseen by representatives of the Election Services Corporation (ESC).

All PEC members are invited at a forum on April 28, where board candidates can meet with members, and communicate their credentials, experience and views. The forum will begin at 6 p.m. at the PEC Training Center, located at 1506 N. Highway 281, in Johnson City.

Candidates will have two minutes to address the audience on the topics of their choice,. The speeches and video will be posted to PEC’s web site. After the address, the audience will have the chance to meet the candidates individually and ask questions.

Ballots and candidate information will be mailed to all PEC members by May 6. Members can return completed ballots by mail using the included pre-paid return envelope, or vote online through ESC’s secure website.

Mail-in and online voting must be completed by June 12. Members can vote in person at PEC’s annual membership meeting on June 20.

More information about the candidates and election, including district boundaries, is available at PEC’s website.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *