San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas
Email Email | Print Print --

April 12th, 2009
Bobcats track 14 wins at Trinity


Texas State sprinter Iris Darrington blew away the field on the track at the Trinity Alumni Classic in San Antonio last week, winning two first-place finishes and a second place. The Bobcats tallied a total of 14 first-place finishes.

Darrington won the women’s 100-meters in a time of 11.83 seconds. Teammate Renee Shepard was second as she crossed the line in a time of 11.99 to break the 12-second barrier. Darrington also captured the women’s 200-meters giving her two gold medals, and a second-place time of 24.48 in he 200 meters. Shepard was fourth in the 200 meters with a time of 25.72.

Lindsey Maxwell grabbed second in the women’s 400 meters, sprinting to a time of 59.37. Kannesha Skinner was fourth with a time of 1:00.55.

In the women’s 800 meters, the Bobcats went 1-2-3-4 with Ryann Bradford leading the way with a first place time of 2:22.41. Natoria Edwards had a time of 2:24.82 for second, followed by Karrisa Reiter and Heather Bullin in 2:25.78 and 2:28.57.

Steffanie Armstrong won the 1500-meter run in a time of 4:51.33 for her fastest time so far this season. Bullin was second in a time of 4:52.27.

Whitney Perkins and Amanda McKinney took fourth and fifth in the 5,000 meters with times of 19:09.36 and 19:22.49.

Katie Miller won the 400-meter hurdles in a time of 1:05.58. Kristina Viniar was second in 1:07.80.

Brooke Hewitt won the high jump with a height of 3.55 meters. Jennifer Matthews took second in the pole vault with a leap of 3.51m.

Sara Olayiwola won both the long jump and triple jump to bring home two top finishes. In the long jump, she leaped to a mark of 5.52m. She reached 11.88m in the triple jump.

Kayla Smith won the shot put with a mark of 12.45, while Katie Hanie won the discus with a toss of 47.27, just missing the NCAA Regional qualifying standard by .03. Taylor Hubbard won the javelin with a throw of 32.41.

Kevin Aje raced to a second place finish in the men’s 100-meters with a time of 10.84. Brandon Thomas grabbed third with a time of 10.85.

Thomas raced to a season-best in the 200 where he ran away from the field in a time of 21.62 to take home first place honors. Stefon Hargrove was third in a time of 22.11.

Justin Longoria was second in the men’s 400-meters with a time of 49.46. Steve Farris took fifth with a time of 51.06.

In the men’s 800-meter run, Eric Sheppard crossed the line in 1:54.24 for third place. Michael Webley was fifth with a time of 1:55.51.

In the men’s 5,000 meters, Jonathan Hernandez grabbed third in a time of 15:38.58. Michael Richards was fourth in a time of 15:39.19, while Michael Morris rounded out the top five in a time of 15:39.45.

Clay Holland won the men’s 110-meter hurdles in a season-best time of 14.56. He also placed second in the 400-meter hurdles in another season-best time of 53.76.

Ikenna Obonna won the triple jump with an NCAA Regional mark of 15.20m and took second in the long jump with a distance of 6.60m.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *