San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

April 1st, 2009
San Marcos HS academic team wins second in district meet


San Marcos High School’s academic team won second place in University Interscholastic League’s district competition. Team members include, front row, Irene Morse, Jenny Rodriguez, Angela Pates, Henry Finch; second row, Selena Selvera, Elaine Reiche, Kelley Mathis; third row, Chris delaIglesia, Greg de la Iglesia, Jessie Plotts, John Pacheco; fourth row, Sarah Williams, Brooke Morgan, Adam Shelstead; and, fifth row, Cameron Dennis, Chris Hall, Marcos Manrique, Ben Painton. Not pictured: Nijah Adams, Bryan DeLeon, Myles Ehrlich, Ian Howard, Julie Munoz, Amber Navarette, Joseph Oyervides, Kristine Staggs, Nick Vasvani.


San Marcos High School’s academic team won runner-up against other teams in the district in the University Interscholastic League’s competition last weekend.

Among the awards, the speech and debate team were named district champions with every team member advancing to regional competition in their individual events.

“The students did an incredible job,” Odam said. “How great it is to have San Marcos High School succeed in an academic arena,” said Layce Odam, the high school’s UIL academic coordinator.


Individual team winners are:

Lincoln Douglas Debate

  • 1st place- Henry Finch
  • 2nd place- Kelley Mathis
  • 3rd place- Irene Morse

Informative Extemporaneous

  • 1- Kelley Mathis
  • 2- Henry Finch

Persuasive Extemporaneous

  • 1- Irene Morse
  • 2- Greg de la Iglesia
  • 3- Angela Pates


  • 1- Brooke Morgan
  • 2- Julie Munoz
  • 4- Ben Painton (Alternate)


  • 2- Nijah Adams
  • 3- Kristine Staggs

(All Speech & Debate above coached by CJ Odam and Lacye Odam)


(Coached by Michael Barrientes & Steve Rothrock)

  • 3rd place team
  • 4- Cameron Dennis (alternate)

Number Sense

(Coached by Michael Barrientes & Steve Rothrock)

  • 1st place team
  • 1- John Pacheco
  • 5- Cameron Dennis
  • Chris de la Iglesia
  • Elaine Reiche

Ready Writing

(coached by Keren Jackson)

  • 2- Jessie Plotts (advancing to regionals)
  • 5- Chris Hall

Spelling & Vocabulary

(coached by Dawn Ellis)

  • 1st place team
  • 2- Sarah Williams
  • 4- Jessie Plotts
  • Myles Ehrlich
  • Adam Shelstead

Editorial Writing

  • 1- Chris Hall

Feature Writing

  • 6- Selena Selvera

Headline Writing

  • 4- Selena Selvera (alternate)

News Writing

  • 4- Marcos Manrique (alternate)
  • 6- Jenny Rodriguez
Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.