San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

February 21st, 2009
Bobcats wrap up SLC indoor meet


Texas State track and field wrapped up competition at the Southland Conference Indoor Championships Saturday with the women finishing second and the men finishing sixth.

The Bobcats set three school records as the meet, where Asiya Iskakova took honors as the high point scorer on the women’s side with 26 points.

Aaron Jones claimed third place in the 60-meters, breaking the school record for the second time this season and posting an NCAA provisional time of 6.74 seconds. Kevin Aje placed eighth with a time of 6.97. Clay Holland grabbed fourth in the 60 hurdles with a time of 8.18.

Freshman sprinter De’Andrick Johnson placed fourth in the 200-meters with a time of 22.25. Michael Webley took sixth in the 800-meters with a time of 1:56.05.

Kemuel Morales brought home the crown in the shot put after throwing a school record, personal-best and NCAA provisional mark of 18.19 meters (59 feet, 8.25 inches). Andy Ysebaert and David Hernandez grabbed sixth and seventh place giving the Bobcats 10 points in the event.

Dmitri Kabakov scored 4,753 points in the heptathlon, taking eighth place.

Iris Darrington scored in all three of her events, coming away with 23 points. Darrington took third in the 60 meters (7.65), second in the 200-meters (24.75) and second in the 400-meters (56.80).

Jennifer Matthews won the pole vault with a height of 3.65 meters (11-11.75) to take home her first crown in the event.

With a mark of 12.13 meters (39-09.75), Iskakova won her second individual crown of the meet, this time in the triple jump. Teammate Sara Olayiwola took third with 11.92 meters (39-01.25).

Kayla Smith captured fifth place in the shot put with 13.10 meters (42-11.75). Jiovanna Martinez placed seventh with 12.51 meters (41-00.50).

The womens 4×400 meter relay team of Darrington, Renee Shepard, Liat Anav and Maria Gustafsson recorded a time of 3:53.71.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.