San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas
Email Email | Print Print --

September 5th, 2008
Warshauer honored with Regents' Professor Award

SAN MARCOS – Texas State University-San Marcos Department of Mathematics professor Max Warshauer has been recognized as a recipient of the 2008 Regents’ Professor Award by the Texas State University System (TSUS) Board of Regents.In addition to Warshauer, Jean Andrews, a professor of deaf education from Lamar University and Paul Ruffin, a professor of English from Sam Houston State University were also honored. The TSUS professors were recognized with the Regents’ Professor Award for exemplary performance and contributions in teaching, research and publication.

Warshauer joined the Texas State faculty in 1979 and began the Math Project in the San Marcos Public Schools from 1984-1988. This program was designed to prepare young students for algebra. He founded the Honors Summer Math Camp (HSMC) in 1990, and has taught the number theory course each summer. He began the Math Camp Endowment in 1991 to permanently support this program.

In 1996 Warshauer extended the program to include younger students by founding the Junior Summer Math Camp (JSMC). He developed this into a replicable model and included teacher training in 1997, and founded the Math Institute for Talented Youth (MITY) to coordinate all the programs. In 2001, Warshauer changed MITY’s name to Mathworks, stressing the expanded mission of this institute in making math work for all students as well as teachers.

Mathworks was recognized by Governor Perry as one of five programs in Texas to receive the 2001 Texas Higher Education Star Award for Closing the Gaps. Dr. Warshauer was one of 10 individuals in the country to receive the 2001 Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics, and Engineering Mentoring. In 2006, Warshauer received the Presidential Recognition Award for Teaching.

With this announcement by the Board of Regents, these three professors will receive a $5,000 award and commemorative medallion. They will also maintain the title of TSUS Regents’ Professor for the duration of their service. To be considered for the distinction of the Regents’ Professor Award, nominees must be full-time faculty members for no less than five consecutive years at a TSUS campus and demonstrate:

• A record of distinguished teaching as well as accomplishments in research and other scholarly activities;

• An outstanding record of service at the local, state, and national levels; and

• A record of commitment to the college or university.

The Texas State University System is the oldest multi-campus system in Texas and plays a critical role in the educational and economic development of this state. It is governed by a nine member Board of Regents appointed by the Governor. In addition, a nonvoting student regent is appointed annually to the Board.

TSUS’s eight component institutions are committed to serving the people of Texas through education. The Texas State University System institutions include: Lamar Institute of Technology; Lamar State College-Orange; Lamar State College-Port Arthur; Lamar University; Sam Houston State University; Sul Ross State University; Sul Ross State University Rio Grande College; and Texas State University-San Marcos.

For more information on TSUS, visit

University News Service

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.