San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas
Email Email | Print Print --

August 26th, 2008
TSRS series hits the track after 28 long (and hot) days

(Austin, TX) This summer has been one of the hottest on record as 100-degree temperatures have ruled the Texas landscape.

However, the action for the state’s premier late-models series, the Texas Super Racing Series (TSRS), has been a bit cool. The ninth race of the TSRS season, scheduled for Houston Motorsports Park (HMP) on Aug. 16, was cancelled due to bad weather in the area (TSRS officials announced the postponed race at HMP has not been rescheduled as of this date).

Thus, TSRS late models will hit the track for the first time in 28 days this Saturday night (Aug. 30) at Thunderhill Raceway (THR) in Kyle, TX. The series’ drivers have been itching to hit the pavement and will do so in a race lineup that includes the three THR classes – the ASA A-Line Auto Parts Super Stocks, Thunder Stocks, Grand Stocks and NASKARTS – as well as the Texas Pro Sedans and Allison Legacy Series.

Heath Stewart (Del Valle, TX) leads the points chase over Brian Moczygemba (San Antonio) by 97 points and Robert Barker (Boerne) by 104 points. The series’ ninth race will take place on THR’s 3/8th-mile asphalt oval.

Previous TSRS winners at THR this season include:

April 19 @ THR: Heath Stewart
April 26 @ THR: Brian Moczygemba

May 31 @ THR: Heath Stewart

July 26 @ THR: Heath Stewart

Dillon Spreen (Boerne, TX) continues to lead Jake Kruger (Bastrop, TX) by 63 points in the TSRS rookie chase headed into Saturday night’s race.

Information on TSRS can be found at

Information about THR can be found at

Texas Super Racing Series
2008 Schedule* and race winners
Legend of tracks:

CCS – Corpus Christi Speedway (Corpus Christi, TX)

HMP – Houston Motorsports Park (Houston, TX)

RRS – Red River Speedway (Wichita Falls)

THR – Thunderhill Raceway (Kyle, TX)

Saturday, April 19: THR

Race Winner: Heath Stewart, Del Valle (TX)

Saturday, April 26: THR
Race Winner: Brian Moczygemba, San Antonio (TX)
Saturday, May 17: HMP (Insty Prints 75)

Race Winner: Jake Kruger, Bastrop (TX)
Saturday, May 31: THR (Operation Interdependence 75)

Race Winner: Heath Stewart, Del Valle (TX)
Saturday, June 7: RRS (Red River Speedway 75)

Race Winner: John Heil, Floresville (TX)

Saturday, June 21, HMP (TRACKEK 75)
Race Winner: Heath Stewart, Del Valle (TX)

Saturday, July 26: THR (Tommy Darity 75)

Race Winner: Heath Stewart, Del Valle (TX)
Saturday, Aug. 2: RRS (Premier Minerals, Inc. 75)

Race Winner: Robert Barker, Boerne (TX)

Saturday, Aug. 16: HMP

(Cancelled due to bad weather)
NEXT RACE: Saturday, Aug. 30: THR
Saturday, Sept. 13: THR
Saturday, Sept. 27: THR
*schedule subject to change

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.