San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas
Email Email | Print Print --

July 31st, 2008
Filing begins for City Council

The filing period for candidates running for the San Marcos City Council in the November 4 general election began on July 27 and will continue through August 26, 2008.

San Marcos voters will choose a mayor and at-large members for Place 3 and Place 4 on the City Council at the November 4 election. The term for mayor is two years and for council members, three years.

The seats are currently held by Mayor Susan Narvaiz, Council Member Daniel Guerrero, Place 3, and Council Member Chris Jones, Chris Jones. The three incumbents filed on Monday, July 28.

The San Marcos City Council will formally call the election at its meeting on August 5.

Candidate packets may be picked up at the City Clerk’s office at City Hall, 630 E. Hopkins Street during regular office hours. (8 a.m. – 5 p.m., Monday-Friday, excluding holidays).

For more information about filing requirements, contact Sherry Mashburn, City Clerk, at 512-393-8090.

Communications Director – City of San Marcos

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *