San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas
Email Email | Print Print --

May 16th, 2008
Travis, Miller educators recognized as teachers of the year

From the San Marcos school district

The sixth annual San Marcos CISD Teachers of the Year awards banquet honored outstanding educators on May 8 at the San Marcos Activity Center. The ten teachers of the year were selected by the faculty and staff at each campus.

The evening’s fiesta theme complimented an outstanding fajita dinner prepared by the district’s Child Nutrition Services and performances by the San Marcos High School Mariachi directed by Juan Cavazos. Travis Elementary School student Marissa Gutierrez gave the Invocation, and Goodnight Junior High student Arik Rangel led the Pledge of Allegiance. Miller Junior High’s Abbey Bowers sang the National Anthem in a stunning performance.

In addition to the families, friends, and co-workers of the honorees, other attendees included PTO members, school board members, members of the San Marcos Education Foundation Board of Directors, Superintendent Patty Schafer, Jean Warneke (Field Representative for U.S. Lloyd Doggett), and Mayor Susan Narvaiz.

A highlight of the evening was the video presentation of each of the honored teachers that was narrated by SMCISD trustee Peter Baen. The video can be seen for free on Time Warner Cable Central Texas on Demand, channel 1400. After each teacher was individually honored with the video, they were presented with a personalized glass apple award, a goodie bag with items from local businesses, a DVD of the video presentation, a congratulatory letter from Congressman Lloyd Doggett, and a check for $250 from the Education Foundation.

Karen Lavender of Travis Elementary was named Elementary Teacher of the Year, and Monica Martin from Miller Junior high was named Secondary Teacher of the Year. Each was given an additional $250 from the Education Foundation, a bouquet of flowers, and video iPod from Time Warner Cable.

In a surprise announcement and presentation, San Marcos CISD was named the Technology District of the Year in the Central Texas Division of Time Warner Cable for the second year in a row for their innovative use of iPods and PDAs for classroom learning and special needs students. A 30 second Public Service Announcement produced for the district to celebrate their 2007 win was shown at the dinner. Time Warner Cable, underwriter for the awards dinner, presented San Marcos CISD Superintendent Dr. Patty Shafer and Technology Director Rhonda Stonecipher with an award check for $1,000 and will air the PSA for three months.

CORRECTION: The headline was edited to reflect that the teachers of the year work at Travis Elementary and Miller Junior High, not Goodnight Junior High.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *