San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas
Email Email | Print Print --

April 25th, 2008
Texas State's Corey Roberson Named All-Southland Conference Selection

FRISCO, Texas – Texas State junior golfer Corey Roberson has been selected as an All-Southland Conference Third Team selection in a poll of league coaches and Sports Information Directors.

Roberson earned All-Conference honors after he led the Bobcats to a second-place finish at the Southland Conference Championships, marking the school’s highest finish since 1998 when the Bobcats also were the runner-up at the SLC Tournament. He also had three Top 10 finishes this season.

Sigmundur Masson of McNeese State was named the SLC Player of the Year after he finished in a tie for first place at the Southland Conference Tournament before falling in a playoff with champion Scott Kelly of Sam Houston State. He led the Cowboys with a 73.48 average through 29 rounds, and had five Top-10 finishes throughout the 2007-08 season.

Masson received the award after edging Lamar’s Casey Clendenon by three points in the poll. Clendenon earned All-SLC First Team honors for the third straight year. He led the SLC in top-10 finishes (6) swinging a 73.50 average in 32 rounds of play including an eighth place tie at the SLC Tournament.

The only freshman member on the All-SLC First Team, Scott Kelly was named the Freshman of the Year after clinching his first individual medalist trophy. Kelly led the Bearkats with a 73.65 average in 29 rounds. The other two players on the All-SLC First Team were Bobby Massa of Texas Arlington and Scotty Campbel of Central Arkansas, who also received Newcomer of the Year honors after posting five Top-10 finishes this season.

Lamar’s Brian White was chosen Coach of the Year after leading the Cardinals to their third straight SLC golf title.

The All-SLC Second Team consisted of Lamar’s Justin Harding and Hugues Joannes, Matthew Carvell of Southeastern Louisiana, Zack Reeves of Texas-Arlington and Gideon Pienaar of Central Arkansas.

Joining Roberson on the Third Team were Russell Helson of Lamar, Southeastern Louisiana’s Graham Benson, Michael Van de Venter of Texas Arlington and Stephen F. Austin’s Kyle Robbins.

Sports Information Director



Sigmundur Masson – McNeese State Sr. Reykjavik, Iceland

Casey Clendenon – Lamar Sr. Katy, Texas

Scott Kelly – Sam Houston State Fr. Kingwood, Texas

Bobby Massa – UT Arlington So. Irving, Texas

Scotty Campbel – Central Arkansas Sr. Conway, Arkansas


Justin Harding – Lamar Jr. Cape Town, South Africa

Matthew Carvell – Southeastern Louisiana Jr. Johannesburg, South Africa

Hugues Joannes – Lamar So. Brussels, Belgium

Zack Reeves – UT Arlington Sr. Arlington, Texas

Gideon Pienaar – Central Arkansas Fr. Pongola, South Africa


Russell Helson – Lamar Sr. Georgetown, Texas

Graham Benson – Southeastern Louisiana Jr. Leighton, England

Corey Roberson – Texas State Jr. Tyler, Texas

Michael Van de Venter – UT Arlington So. Centurion, South Africa

Kyle Robbins – Stephen F. Austin Fr. Southlake, Texas

Honorable Mention: Thomas Kearney, UTSA; Kevin Carrigan, UTA; Brandon Frankhouser, SHSU; Simon Merry, UTSA; Cedric Scotto, SLU.

Player of the Year: Sigmundur Masson, McNeese State

Freshman of the Year: Scott Kelly, Sam Houston State

Newcomer of the Year: Scotty Campbell, Central Arkansas

Coach of the Year: Brian White, Lamar

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *