San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

Department of History

Tuesday, July 19th, 2011

Texas State President Denise Trauth announces winners of 2011 Distinguished Professor award

Two Texas State Professors, Dr. Jesús Francisco de la Teja and Dr. Robert Gorman, received this year’s University Distinguished Professor award. The award honors those whose teaching, research and service have been exemplary and recognized at the state, national and international levels.

Monday, November 8th, 2010

Texas State professor selected to board of Humanities Texas

Texas State's Jesus De la Teja brings a wealth of knowledge to his selection as a board member for Humanities Texas. He is chair of the History Department at Texas State.

Tuesday, June 8th, 2010

Two named outstanding mentors at Texas State

Kenneth Margerison, a professor in Texas State's Department of History, and Jesse Silva, a student development specialist II in the Office of Multicultural Student Affairs, have been named recipients of the Mariel M. Muir Excellence in Mentoring...

Tuesday, April 6th, 2010

Makowski named first Ingram history professor

Texas State historian Elizabeth Makowski has been named the Ingram Professor of History for its inagural term, 2010-2013. Makowski will use the position to write about English nuns using litigation to protect their rights and property during...

Monday, March 22nd, 2010

Texas music history lives at concert

The Center for Texas Music History will bring together some prominent Texas musicians for discussions and performances Tuesday night at the annual Texas Music History Unplugged concert.

Thursday, March 12th, 2009

Moonwalker to visit Texas State

Charles Duke, Lunar Module Pilot of the Apollo 16 mission, will lecture at Texas State on April 7.