San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

COVER: County Judge Bert Cobb, Hays County Pct. 2 Commissioner Mark Jones, Pct. 1 Commissioner Debbie Gonzales Ingalsbe, Historical Commission members Linda Coker, Marie Bassett, SarahAnn Lowther, Shelley Henry, Robert Frizzell, commission chair Kate Johnson, Patricia Randow, Delbert Bassett, Jerry Moore and Carmen Imel, Pct. 3 Commissioner Will Conley and Pct. 4 Commissioner  Ray Whisenant. PHOTO by LAUREEN CHERNOW/HAYS COUNTY


The commissioners court presented the Hays County Historical Commission with the Texas Historical Commission’s Distinguished Service Award for its accomplishments last year.

The award is given each year to local historical commissions that provide “well-rounded programs of history and preservation-related projects.”

In accepting the award for the Hays County Historical Commission, chairperson Kate Johnson thanked the volunteers who serve the commission.

“Our volunteers did a fabulous job in 2015, from educating the public through our historical videos and courthouse museum, cleaning our neglected cemeteries, preserving historic trees and placing historical signs,” Johnson said.

The historical commission also arranged the purchase and restoration of “History of Cattle Ranching” murals by Buck Winn for the Hays County Government Center.

Johnson thanked the commissioners court “for allowing us to spread our wings. Without your continued support and encouragement we would not be here to receive this award.”

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.