San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas


JOHNSON CITY — This in today from Pedernales Electric Cooperative spokesperson Kay Jarvis about a forthcoming election for two board of director seats: District 4, which encompasses Wimberley, Dripping Springs and much of western Hays County, and District 5, which primarily encompasses Blanco County:

Pedernales Electric Cooperative is accepting nominations from eligible candidates in PEC Board Districts 4 and 5 interested in running to serve on the cooperative’s board of directors.

Petition forms and information are posted on the cooperative’s website here. Members also may call 1-888-554-4732 or go to any PEC office to request the materials. The petition materials include qualifications, instructions, an application, maps showing PEC board districts and forms for submitting background information and collecting member signatures.

Members seeking nomination for PEC director positions are required by cooperative by-laws to do so through a petition process. Verifiable signatures from 50 members who live within the nominee’s board district or have designated a voting residence within that district are required for nomination. Members seeking nomination may obtain a list of members within each board district by sending an email to this address; members may call the PEC elections team at 1-800-868-4791, ext. 5163, for more detailed information.

Completed petition materials must be received at PEC headquarters by the board’s recording secretary by 5 p.m. March 28.

Director nominees have to maintain primary residence receiving continuous electric service for one year in the PEC Board district in which they seek election. In September, PEC’s board of directors approved refinements to the cooperative’s director district boundaries to divide proportionally the number of PEC members in each district. PEC’s Board District 4 now includes parts of Blanco, Hays and Travis counties; District 5 now includes parts of Blanco, Burnet, Edwards, Gillespie, Hays, Kendall, Kerr, Kimble, Llano, Mason, Menard, Real, Sutton, Travis and Williamson counties.

Running for a seat on the Board and voting in PEC elections is a distinctive benefit of being a cooperative member. Directors are democratically elected by the PEC membership and are compensated for their service. The cooperative has one director from each of its seven Board districts, and directors serve three-year terms.

A member-staffed qualifications review committee will verify nominees’ qualifications. After petition signatures and nominees’ qualifications are verified, PEC plans to announce the director candidates April 18.

Members from all seven board districts will be able to vote by mail or online between May 19 and June 10, or in person at the cooperatives’s June 18 annual meeting in Dripping Springs. Election results will be announced near the conclusion of the annual meeting.


Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.