San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

COVER: The 2015 Halloween flood forced an emergency evacuation of Travis Elementary in San Marcos and thousands of homes and businesses in San Marcos, Kyle, Buda, Wimberley and Martindale. CITY OF SAN MARCOS PHOTO


AUSTIN — Six Central Texas counties — Hays, Caldwell, Guadalupe, Comal, Travis and Bastrop — are among 15 counties formally declared disaster areas today by Gov. Greg Abbott following flooding and a tornado during a wave of severe weather between Oct. 22 and Oct. 31.

flood of 2015 icon blueIf President Obama grants the governor’s request for federal aid, affected property owners in the disaster areas will be eligible to apply for individual assistance grants of up to $33,000 from the Federal Emergency Management Agency and for low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration.

In a written statement, Abbott said flooding “forever changed many Texans’ lives.”

“Declaring a disaster in the Lone Star State may allow affected citizens across the state to gain access to the resources they need in order to start rebuilding their lives. I have no doubt that the victims of this flooding will build an even stronger future for themselves, their families and the State of Texas,” Abbott said.

Other counties included in the disaster declaration include Brazoria, Galveston, Hardin, Harris, Hidalgo, Liberty, Navarro, Willacy and Wilson counties. The initial declaration does not cover damage to public infrastructure including roads, bridges and government buildings.

Email Email | Print Print


3 thoughts on “Gov. Abbott declares state of disaster in six Central Texas counties

  1. What a stupid statement. Disaster is disaster and things don’t usually better after a disaster. Greg Abbott lives in a mansion. Disaster victims don’t.

  2. Charles,

    I would like for you to reference what part of the statement is stupid?

    Encouraging Texans to be even stronger?

    Getting the flood victims access to federal money?

    Keep politics out of this. I’m sure the victims don’t care whether a Republican or Democrat requests and grants the funds so long as they receive it

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.