San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas


The deadline is Thursday, Aug. 27 — tomorrow — for individuals to register for assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency for the string of floods, storms and tornadoes that afflicted the state between May 4 and June 22.

flood of 2015 icon blueAlso on Thursday, FEMA will close seven disaster recovery centers including those at the San Marcos Activity Center, 501 E. Hopkins St.; the Wimberley Community Center, 14068 Ranch Road 12; and at Martindale Baptist Church, 12351 Texas 142.

As of Sunday, FEMA had distributed about $50 million in relief money, more than $40.8 million for housing assistance and more than $9.1 million for other needs. The U.S. Small Business Administration has approved more than $77.9 million in low-interest, longterm recovery loans for 1,489 homeowners and 95 businesses.

FEMA deadline nears

The deadline to register for individual aid from the Federal Emergency Management Agency is Aug. 27. People can register online, by phone or in person at a disaster recovery center.

Phone: 1-800-621-FEMA (3362)


Hays, Caldwell disaster recovery centers close 6 p.m. Aug. 27

Federal and state agencies will close seven disaster recovery centers at 6 p.m. Aug. 27 including those in Hays and Caldwell Counties:

San Marcos Activity Center [2]
501 E. Hopkins St., San Marcos

Wimberley Community Center [1]
14068 Ranch Road 12, Wimberley

Martindale Baptist Church [3]
12351 Texas 142, Martindale

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.