San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

COVER: Volunteers sort donated supplies in San Marcos. PHOTO by DON ANDERS


11:35 a.m. MONDAY, JUNE 8: FEMA and the U.S. Small Business Administration now have three mobile intake centers operating in Hays County, one in Wimberley and two in San Marcos.

Parking lot between the activity center and library
501 E. Hopkins
 St., San Marcos
9 a.m. to 7 p.m. daily until further notice

Blanco Gardens Neighborhood
801 River Road, San Marcos
9 a.m. to 7 p.m. daily until further notice

Wimberley Community Center
14068 Ranch Road 12, Wimberley
9 a.m. to 7 p.m. daily until further notice


9 a.m. SATURDAY, JUNE 6: A federal disaster declaration for flood- and tornado-stricken Texas has been expanded to include 20 more counties hit last month by flooding and other natural disasters.

The expanded list includes Caldwell, Bastrop, Blanco, Guadalupe, Travis and Williamson counties in Central Texas. Residents in those counties are now potentially eligible for emergency grants or loans administered by the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

“People should register as quickly as possible to get as close as possible to the top of the list,” FEMA spokesperson Robin Smith said.

In Hays County — one of three counties declared a federal disaster area on May 30 — 952 people have registered for assistance, Smith said. So far, $2.2 million in assistance has already been approved for flood victims in Hays County, Smith said.

Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses (these loans are through the Small Business Administration for homeowners, renters and nonprofits as well as for businesses) and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

Individuals and business owners who sustained losses in the designated area can begin applying for assistance at any mobile application site, through door-to-door contact by FEMA contractors, by registering online here, by smartphone here or by calling 800-621-FEMA (3362).

Disaster assistance applicants, who have a speech disability or hearing loss and use TTY, should call 800-462-7585 directly; for those who use 711 or Video Relay Service (VRS), call 800-621-3362. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 7 a.m. to 9 p.m. (local time) seven days a week until further notice.



Disaster assistance frequently asked questions [pdf]

Flier on FEMA registration in English [pdf]

Flier on FEMA registration in Spanish [pdf]

List of counties included in expanded federal disaster declaration

  • Caldwell
  • Bastrop
  • Blanco
  • Caldwell
  • Denton
  • Eastland
  • Fort Bend
  • Guadalupe
  • Henderson
  • Hidalgo
  • Johnson
  • Milam
  • Montague
  • Navarro
  • Rusk
  • Smith
  • Travis
  • Witchita
  • Williamson
  • Wise
Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.