San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

SLIDESHOW: [A] Holdover San Marcos CISD board president Kathy Hansen, second from the left, presided over Monday’s meeting after trustees failed to elect a new president. [B] Two of three trustees elected earlier this month were endorsed by the Texas State Teachers Association’s San Marcos chapter, members of which turned out by the scores for the meeting. [C] The union is asking for a five percent across-the-board raise for the district’s schoolteachers for the fiscal year that starts Sept. 1. Trustees are expected to consider the pay increase as part of a budget workshop on June 1. PHOTOS by DEBBIE MOHONDRO. © 2015, TEXAS STATE TEACHERS ASSOCIATION. USED WITH PERMISSION.


For the second consecutive year, San Marcos CISD trustees were unable to elect a board president Monday evening in their first meeting after seating new members.

Three victors in the May 9 election — Anne Halsey, John McGlothlin and Miguel Arredondo — were sworn to their offices at the board’s regular monthly meeting on May 18. Four rounds of votes followed for four potential board presidents, none of whom managed to secure a majority.

The trio of incoming members supported McGlothlin as board president, but his nomination fell one vote short. Current board president Kathy Hansen received three votes, her own and those of Halsey and trustee Margie T. Villalpando. Then trustees Lupe Costilla and John Crowley took turns nominating each other; both nominations failed with two votes.

With trustees deadlocked, Hansen presided over the remainder of the meeting during which Halsey was elected vice president and Villalpando was elected secretary.

Winning 943 and 674 votes, respectively, Halsey and McGlothlin emerged earlier this month from a crowded field of seven contenders for three-year terms in the board’s two at-large seats. They replace Judy Allen and Paul Mayhew, who did not seek reelection.

Meanwhile, Arredondo bested Danny M. Gonzales, 160 to 62 votes, to represent single-member District 1. Since he is filling an unexpired term resulting from resignation, Arredondo’s current term will run two years instead of three. He will be up for re-election in May 2017.

Following election of a new trustee last May, Hansen and Crowley each won three votes in the board’s first attempt to elect a president. Hansen prevailed a month later when Crowley missed the meeting and could not vote for himself.

CORRECTION 5:27 p.m. WEDNESDAY, MAY 20: The story originally reported that current San Marcos CISD trustee president Kathy Hansen received two votes to keep the board’s gavel; she received three. Incoming trustee Anne Halsey voted both for Hansen and for trustee John McGlothlin when their nominations were considered.

Email Email | Print Print


One thought on “San Marcos CISD trustees deadlock on picking board president

  1. I probably don’t get the dynamics, but why not out of courtesy elect one of the more experienced members? A newcomer should be just learning the ropes. FWIW

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.