San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas


SEGUIN — A Kendall County engineer will preside over the Guadalupe-Blanco River Authority’s board of directors beginning Jan. 1 following a reorganization of officers initiated this month.

On Dec. 15, the authority’s nine directors elected Thomas “Tommy” Owen Mathews II, who owns Boerne-based Westward Environmental Inc., as board president. Appointed by Gov. Rick Perry in 2011, Mathew’s term on the GBRA board runs through February 2015. He replaces Oscar H. Fogle, a Caldwell County rancher and retired Exxon Corp. employee, who is serving his second term on the board.

Robert “Rusty” Brockman, the economic development director for the Greater New Braunfels Chamber of Commerce, will serve as vice president. Dennis Lynn Patillo, a Victoria title company president, will serve as the board’s secretary and treasurer.

GBRA manages the use of water in the Guadalupe and Blanco rivers as well as their tributaries which include the San Marcos River. The authority’s territory encompasses about 7,875 square miles across ten counties, stretching from Kendall County in the Hill Country to Calhoun County on the Gulf of Mexico.

A snapshot of the board’s new officers, based on professional profiles compiled by GBRA’s spokesperson and on San Marcos Mercury research:

Tommy Mathews

Kendall County

In addition to running the civil engineering and environmental consulting firm he founded in 1996, Mathews is a former board chair of the Allied Division of the Texas Aggregate and Concrete Association and a former board member of the National Stone, Sand and Gravel Association.

He is president of the Cow Creek Groundwater Conservation District and the former president of the Hill Country Alliance of Groundwater Conservation Districts.

Mathews is a member of the National Registry of Environmental Professionals, Texas Board of Professional Geoscientists, Associated General Contractors of Texas and Texas Hot Mix Asphalt Pavement Association. He holds a bachelor’s degree from Trinity University in San Antonio.

Rusty Brockman

Comal County

Brockman chairs the San Marcos-based Austin/San Antonio IH-35 Corridor Council’s economic development committee and serves as vice chair of the Texas Economic Development Council.

His six-year term as a GBRA director runs through February 2017.

Brockman holds a bachelor’s degree and teaching certification from the University of Houston and a master’s degree in education from Stephen F. Austin State University in Nacogdoches. He is a lifetime member of the Texas Parent/Teacher Association and a past president of the New Braunfels Breakfast Lions Club.

Dennis Patillo

Victoria County

Patillo is president of Stewart Title of the Coastal Bend Inc. and vice chair of the Victoria Economic Development Council. He is the past board chair of the Texas Association of Realtors and Houston Association Realtors and a former board member of the National Association of Realtors.

His appointment to the GBRA board runs through February 2015.

Patillo sits on the board of directors of DeTar Healthcare System, a San Antonio-based physicians group. He holds a bachelor’s degree from the University of Houston.

COVER: The Blanco River in Wimberley is flanked by huge Cypress trees. PHOTO by ANDY HEATWOLE.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.