San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas


New Texas State head men’s basketball coach Danny Kaspar has named his coaching staff, and it looks quite like the Texas State staff of recent years under the departed Doug Davalos, who liked to run and gun.


New Texas State men’s basketball coach Danny Kasper has named his staff. TEXAS STATE ATHLETICS PHOTO.

But it also looks a little like Kaspar’s recent staffs at Stephen F. Austin, where he built a reputation for winning on the defensive end.

Kaspar is retaining Rob Flaska, who has worked under Davalos for the past four seasons. Another member of the new staff is Terrence Rencher, who worked at Texas State under Davalos from 2009-2011 before moving over assist at Tulsa in 2011-12 and Sam Houston State in 2012-13. The other assistant coach is Talvin Hester, who worked with Kaspar last year at Stephen F. Austin (SFA) last season. The previous two years, Hester was an assistant at San Jose State.

“I think we’ve assembled a really good staff to get Texas State men’s basketball on a path to winning championships,” Kaspar said. “All three of these individuals have considerable experience at the Division I level, and they are an industrious group. I feel confident in their ability to judge talent and character, and we will need both of those in order to win championships and get into the NCAA Tournament. I’m very excited about this staff and I look forward to working with them.”

Rencher is the all-time leading scorer at the University of Texas (2,306 points). He was selected in the second round of the 1995 NBA Draft and played overseas.

Hester is a native of Ohio with ties to the Houston area. With Kaspar last season at SFA, the Lumberjacks won the 2013 Southland Conference regular season title, advanced to the NIT, and finished the season with the No. 1 scoring defense in the nation.

Flaska brings 30 years of coaching experience to the staff, more than 10 of them in Texas. Flaska was a member of the Bobcat coaching staff when the Cats were the SLC Co-West Divisions champions in 2012.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *